Uncategorized

I’m Not Dreaming Anymore (Tuesday One Stop Poetry)

I’m not dreaming anymore.

I am a player in Dr. King’s sequel.
I am a member of God’s Church.
I am created equal.

I’m not dreaming anymore.

I’m not a token in an organization.
I’m not a statistic to be bussed and moved.
I’m not a minority in a congregation.

I’m not dreaming anymore.

My eyes are blind to all complexions.
I will not judge the color of skin.
I don’t worry with ramifications.

I’m not dreaming anymore.

I toil with my hands.
I patrol the streets of freedom.
I bleed in foreign lands.

I’m not dreaming anymore.

I’m burning my excuses in a new day’s fire.
I’m boycotting false role models.
I’m tuning out the stereotypical liar.

I’m not dreaming anymore.

I’m a pulse in the heartbeat of prayer.
I’m a note in the symphony of brotherhood.
I’m a pronoun in God’s voice declaring I care.

I’m not dreaming anymore.

I’m a part of freedom’s toll.
I am ringing freedom’s bell.
I’m wearing freedom’s clothes.

I’m not dreaming anymore.

I can still feel the crack of a whip and burn of a rope.
I can still feel the sting of a tongue screaming nigger.
Yet, I feel the healing of a sunrise on the strength of a new hope.

I’m not dreaming anymore.

I still hear the shot that silenced a King.
I still hear the prayers of Frederick Douglas.
I still hear Clara Ward sing.

But, I’m not dreaming anymore.

I am free right now.
I am free right now.
Thank God Almighty.
I am free right now.

I’m not dreaming anymore.

Standard

6 thoughts on “I’m Not Dreaming Anymore (Tuesday One Stop Poetry)

  1. hmmmm I have a lot to say about this…hmm maybe because I am from the land of the free where I had not had to dream and just be, I see there is still a lot of reasons to dream in America.Maybe because every time a patient of mine questions my education, my skills or choose to refuse my being assigned to their care, I realize there is still a lot to dream about and work towards.Yes it is nice to see some changes but by God, there is a lot left undone, unsaid. Hope that once 2 more generations are gone things would change. Boy could I say a lot!Sorry but this is a fiery topic for me. I suffer from racism dailyNice poem!

Leave a Reply

