Uncategorized

I Want To Be a Penny (for big tent)

I want to be a penny,
laying on rails,
waiting for a train.
Have you ever seen a penny after fifty grain cars flatten it into
    oblong coolness?
I’m tired
             of worthless,
collected in topless mason jars,
saved
         just to be stolen,
                                   for some blow and a little weed.
I want to be cool,
smashed into something somebody finds,
and says,
             “Wow, check this out.”
Instead of,
                “tails, bad luck,”
and thrown inside some bushes,
                                   to be alone;
a penny from hell.
I’d rather rain from Heaven on poor people with mason jars for food; with hope.
I want to be cool.
I want to quit smoking;
                                   kill two birds with one
engine
          pulling thousands of tons of
                                   oblong creating coolness.
I want to be a penny,
laying on rails,
waiting for a train.

Just thinking….

Standard

5 thoughts on “I Want To Be a Penny (for big tent)

  1. I like this piece. In fact, It relates so well to how most women feel about their physical selves… wanting them to be altered, different, longer, leaner…I also think it perfectly states our need to be special, different from all the other pennies in the can.;-)

  2. Fabulous pairing of image & poem. The voice is terrific, the musings startling and yet so sensible – of course, "I want to be a penny,/laying on the rails". Who wouldn't?

Leave a Reply

