Uncategorized

Orange Butterflies

Butterflies of black wings dipped orange in flight
Flutter high on breeze push pillows white
A half open window blows curtains blue
Harmonica’s lament leak tears in tune

Lover’s lies of wrongs sing loud goodbyes
Mother sighs at songs sung soft and cries
A half open window blows curtains blue
Iridescent events hearts beg aren’t true

But prayerful wings
Fond of orange butterflies
Cured blindness with love
From a new Father’s eye
And mothers don’t cry

Blue curtains stay dry
Because of prayerful wings
Fond of orange butterflies
Basketballs of young dreams deflate at night
Left alone in blindness no father’s sight
A half open window blows curtains blue
Ephemeral moments short lived like dew

Windows stay shut at our old home these days

Blue curtains catch dust grow mildew and fade
It’s quiet outside where a lad once wept
Listening to lyrics with sad intent
But prayerful wings
Fond of orange butterflies
Cured blindness with love
From a new Father’s eye
And basketballs bounce high
Blue curtains stay dry
Because of prayerful wings
Fond of orange butterflies
Standard

24 thoughts on “Orange Butterflies

  1. The colors layered here with the flight of the butterfly throughout, bring strong emotion to the poem and move the picture of a window and the lament through time. Excellent use of rhyme and color for effect. Thank you. Gay

  2. Very melodic… Melody and pain are a difficult mix. I particularly visualized the blue curtains. They are the focal point of this poem, I believe. Good job!

  3. I really like how you added the basketball touchAnd the butterfly pic made it increase by muchAs you can really see the words behind the picGiving a great rhyming lickAlso like how you went from open to closeBringing the cheer and the woesA very strong rhyme it isAnd I should know as I'm a whiz..lol

  4. Almost a childhood skip song, sung sweet and high, and you've done such a good job with your repeating lines of singsonging home the poem–I can see the curtains blue, the butterfly wings…the sense of loss and redemption is strong.

  5. honeyhaiku says:

    Wow-wee! This is a monolith of poetic prowess! I have enjoyed reading your work. I have a cord of the mundane plucked to beauty!!!

  6. The music in your heart is made clearly evident in this write, Henry! Read aloud, it's flow is flawless and I think, if I had to pick a favorite phrase…"…leak tears in tune" speaks very loudly to me. Bravo! (and much thanks for the double comment over at my little bubble…made my day!) 🙂

  7. I'm imagining you thinking, "What the heck? What rhymes with orange!?!"Dig the repeating stanza. This part was my favorite: "Basketballs of young dreams deflate at nightLeft alone in blindness no father’s sight"Excellent! 😀

  8. This is a wonderful poem. At first as I read, I thought to myself: "how cleverly done, linking these emotions to various things shown here." Then I came to the next to last stanza and the poem went from clever to making tears come to my eyes. This is beautiful Henry.

Leave a Reply

