Uncategorized

Walk Away (inspired by Surviving Picasso)

Picasso
Why shocked?
Expecting diamonds,
a jeweled crown,
love?
No tiaras here, only
burlap sacks of unused respect you wear on hips and under eyes;  gravity doesn’t lie, here.
Wrinkles too, etched with rough charcoal truths;
it’s not pretty at dusk, under swirling gray clouds,
in shadows, alone.
Welcome to the Minotaur’s labyrinth,
wasted cubed objects of consumed passion;
as if you didn’t know.
But come near,
feel cold glass,
read my bloodless lips,
listen to yourself,
Walk away.
Walk away.
Walk away.
Standard

16 thoughts on “Walk Away (inspired by Surviving Picasso)

  1. These lines are amazing:Wrinkles too, etched with rough charcoal truths;it’s not pretty at dusk, under swirling gray clouds,in shadows, aloneAt 51, I'm closer to dusk than not and am ever amazed at the aging I see. I do believe, however, that the wonder of me at this age far exceeds the disappointment of lost youth/beauty.

  2. Powerful images conjoured up in this one.I don't know if it's just me, but I swear there's a face in that there tree…on the right!Nicely done.

  3. 'Wrinkles too, etched with rough charcoal truths;it’s not pretty at dusk, under swirling gray clouds,in shadows, alone.'Lovely lines. As I age I prefer dusk to full daylight. lol The twenty something I was (many years ago) doesn't look good in bright light any longer. 🙂 Thanks for commenting on my blog. I appreciate your visit.

Leave a Reply

