Love, Uncategorized

Love Within a Love

Sarah Joncas

You make me breathe

I seek shoulders wanting touch, in silk sheets dreaming

that I can love, love again

awake

 

Did we lose heart in desert storm

fighting off the dream?

Arm in arm in harm’s cold hearth

were we a we, or me, sleeping again?

 

Was it your face facing mine

as we twirled a twirl in battle end?

Did I pray in screams to Mars

that I could love you beyond the dawn?

 

I know

I don’t have to dream to love you

 

I know

I don’t have to

dream

 

I love you

 

You make me live

I kiss lower back’s soft skin, in sheet’s silk dream

that I can love, love again

awake

 

Did our sight cease seeing life

fighting fights of dreams?

Harm in harm with arms gone cold

were we a we, or me, sleeping again?

 

Was your death’s dead whisper

dancing a dance in day’s surrender?

Did I scream in prayer to Mars

that I could love beyond the dawn?

 

I know

I don’t have to dream to love you

 

I know

I don’t have to

dream

 

I love you

 

 

Standard

28 thoughts on “Love Within a Love

  1. There is an ache to this, giving of love regardless if reciprocated. Lovely expression, send my love and gratitude for you and your words my friend! ~ Rose

  2. love the repetition in this and the allusions to battle…even desert storm…smiles…love is a battlefield, true that…

    Was your death’s dead whisper

    dancing a dance in day’s surrender?

    that is a tongue twister but a very nice line….

  3. Oh .. this, I like!! And this, I can certainly relate to!!!
    Love makes us question ourselves.. no? It makes us doubt ourselves…a lot! 🙂

    Well written, Henry..

  4. HELLO Kid Denver! Henry…once again, the image…the words…holds me captive…which came first? words or photo? They were made for each other…and I am left in awe!

    • Always the words. If I picked one of Sarah’s paintings first I could never match her depth, or any artist for that matter. But for me the words are first because I want them coming from me to the reader. Then I hunt down a representative image. Thanks for the visit, tashtoo:)

  5. Laurie Kolp says:

    So sensual… like a song, really. I like the movement from shoulder to lower back’s soft skin in the silky sheets… dreamy and romantic. Thanks for your words of encouragement, too… they meant a lot to me.

  6. hedgewitch says:

    You’ve really given this a surreal overtone, a waking dream, a confusion of the two, and the way you mingle the language of love and war is as disturbing as the refrain’s yearning is intoxicating. Really liked it, henry.

    • I can see that, thanks, but I was striving more for a couple losing their focus and sight of their love in the causes they fight for. Next thing one discoveries they are alone and trying to recapture a love that died along the way. But if a soldier’s dream of a love back home sells, I’m all for it 🙂 Thanks for the visit. I always appreciate your input!

  7. A wonderfully rich, tender reminiscence, exultation of love striving against all boundaries. You carry us through and land us where it begins, love, an everlasting love whose optimism seems to defy death itself.

  8. this feels so real, the truth of love, the longing, the possibility, the actuality, all tangled up in the bedsheets of life. love the phrasing and repetition.

Leave a Reply

