Uncategorized

Tomorrow

If I could touch
the way
you used to be
with the hands
I used to have.

I’ve harpooned the whale a thousand times.
It just won’t die.
My ship is wrecked.
I float on splintered timbers.
And it just circles me,
the whale,
with all my harpoons protruding its flesh.
Yet,
it refuses to kill me.
In fact it nestles near, begging me to grab a harpoon out of its skin
and stab it again.
A whale that can’t be killed, and a whale that will destroy everything I have,
but me.

It’s like you and the lion.
I understand.

But nobody knows,
nobody sees our beasts,
me in the sea,
and you in the jungle,
half dead,
except us.

I was going to let loose, and drown, until I found this message floating in a bottle.

If I could touch
the way
you used to be
with the hands
I used to have.

I get that,
but yesterday can’t kill today,
so we need a tomorrow.
The message isn’t about the past.

If I could touch
the way
you used to be
with the hands
I used to have,
we’d have tomorrow.

That keeps me floating today.

Standard

11 thoughts on “Tomorrow

  1. wow….love that stanza on you trying to kill the whale and it destroying everything but you….ugh…very real and the scene carries a certain familiar emotion to it as well….and how holding onto that one fantasy as well keeps us afloat….nice man…love the Once background too…great movie

  2. I’ve harpooned the whale a thousand times.
    It just won’t die.
    My ship is wrecked.
    I float on splintered timbers… sometimes it’s a long and hard way to forget..isn’t it.. well penned emotions here… love the movie as well.. think they made a good decision…yet sometimes i wonder how it could be if they chose different..

  3. “If I could touch
    the way
    you used to be
    with the hands
    I used to have.”

    Geez, that’s an awesome opening.

    I love these as well:

    “It’s like you and the lion.
    I understand.”

    “I was going to let loose, and drown, until I found this message floating in a bottle.”

    Really cool, Henry. Surreal imagery applied to reality. What keeps us floating today … whatever it takes.

  4. Beyond Moby Dick and somewhere caught in the symbols of Philip Pullman with each of us having a “daemon other” which haunts, invades but never kills. You turned these inside out to speak of a time when love goes wild and the fury becomes a maelstrom that keeps you in its eye. Superb.

Leave a Reply

