Uncategorized

Working Still

 

—Working Still by Borg de Nobel / http://borgeous.wordpress.com/ used with permission /

Work-

ing still

flamed spoon

soars over moon

orbit

life in frames

jammed

with the reel still spin-

ing

mountain of film

drool-

ing

from my – my – my

chin

bruised

from fall-

ing

with the other thirty-three percent

muted lips

protest-

ing

shadow

of stained

ash black

residue of life before the numb-

ing

bind-

ing

straight jacket

squeez-

ing

infected

sting

of my weakness

captured by the glimpse

of an artiest

work-

ing

still

 

For dVerse http://dversepoets.com/

We were prompted to write a poem from a painting by Borg de Nobel http://borgeous.wordpress.com/

 

Standard

22 thoughts on “Working Still

  1. really cool henry…love that you include the spoon and also things like the 33 percent keep this grounded …the infected sting of weakness…and tight closure with bringing it back to working still

  2. I like that your poem went full circle, Henry. It began with “working still” and ended with the same words. I also liked the idea of life in frames jammed with the reel still spinning. I can see this. I really think often I would like to capture just one frame of my life and stay there for a while, rather than rushing on to the next and the next.

  3. snap dude….good stuff…wondering what the 33% is…but i def feel the tightening of the straight jacket…and you got nice flow in this as well….really like the film reel film pooling image…

  4. hobgoblin2011 says:

    really cool take on the painting. The writing down the page aspect really was an outstanding touch, not just from the picture you paint through words, but also the aesthetic the poem casts, and how that image also ties back into the poem itself. Great read. Thanks

  5. Reminded me a bit of the dish ran away with the spoon, and the moon. I could feel myself tightening up as I read this. Constricting with each line. Great imagery.
    RYN: Sad when a parent forces that on their child it takes away the magic of the learning. I began to learn to read music and then, lost it. lol

  6. dolbsterthepoet says:

    Great use of imagery. Love the wordplay that runs through the body of the poem. Cleverly done and thank you for sharing.

  7. life in frames jammed
    with the reel still spinning

    Life can be a confusion. Life is jammed but things are still moving. That is going to be awful as it may spin out of control. Well said Henry! You got it right. We ought to be careful!

    Hank

Leave a Reply

