Uncategorized

Another Girl

By Sarah Joncas

Suddenly

I’m reminded of another girl,

one who has seen evil.

 

She doesn’t wear her past like an earring in her nose,

but hidden

like a tattooed inner thigh,

underneath white cotton pleats.

 

Yet it is

her eyes,

pupils mined from the darkest black.

 

Her knife works quick;

in and out,

a brisk kiss on my cheek;

a drafty wisp on my skin.

 

Suddenly,

suddenly,

I remember –

my sin.

 

 

For dVerse Open Mic Tuesday

Standard

23 thoughts on “Another Girl

    • Thank you, Kelly. I in a way like the new look too. But I am tiring of black. But I like the simple presentation, just the words and image. Not sure how long I will wear this, but for now, it’s home 🙂

  1. Wow, we are certainly forced to remember some of our sins. You have so much of a story packed into this piece. I love the movement in the memory with words like quick and wisp. The newness looks nice, especially with this piece. 🙂

  2. She doesn’t wear her past like an earring in her nose,
    but hidden
    like a tattooed inner thigh,
    underneath white cotton pleats.

    This is an incredible write. It grabbed my attention, pulled me forward and left me with the lingering truths at the end. I’m so glad I came here.

Leave a Reply

