Uncategorized

Softly Scalding

By David Dory

She sighs so softly lying bare

Love’s negligee a scent as rose

Teasing me with scalding stare

 

Unstable I avoid her stare

Eyes fight to keep their curtains closed

She sighs so softly lying bare

 

Sardonic laughter stiffens hair

My Franken-girl without her clothes

Teasing me with scalding stare

 

Regretting birth of this nightmare

Surviving scars that fuel my woes

She sighs so softly lying bare

 

Stained by darkness void of care

She does not feel the sting of no

Teasing me with scalding stare

 

I cannot run for lack of air

I cannot mute her sultry notes

She sighs so softly lying bare

Teasing me with scalding stare

 

 

For dVerse

Standard

16 thoughts on “Softly Scalding

  1. um i am not sure how to feel after reading this one…ha…there is some heat, but also some creepy in it as well….lol..your franken-girl….its alive, its alive…smiles…and the suriving the scars that fuel your woes…cool, edgy…softly scalding is a great phrase….

  2. Wow, yes I had to go back and read three times. That’s good because first I thought it romantic/love, then I thought it risqué and wrong and then I realized it was a monster and she beckoned without feeling. I’m sure I got it. Thrilling!!!

  3. You do seem to be on a roll with the damaging aspects of relationship and fantasy. The form works to your purpose, smooth as the sandy, slippery slope leading to the Franken-girl. Excellent.

  4. hedgewitch says:

    Really some sharp images in this, and the form drives them home as John says above–I especially like ‘stained by darkness void of care’ and the entire concluding quatrain. This suits the month of the Scorpion very well, if you enjoy that sort of mumbo jumbo(which I do.)

  5. Semaphore / Samuel Peralta says:

    An exercise in blending the alluring with the horrific – the villanelle’s repeated refrains serve to underscore the two polar themes that you balance here.

Leave a Reply

