Uncategorized

As We Trudge Back Through The Woods

As we trudge back through the woods –

Rain falls down,
Rain falls down hard and heavy.
Trails melt to mud,
Wet mud,
Slippery mud,
Thick and heavy mud clog on our boots,

As we trudge back through the woods.

Where we had been at?
None-ya.
Where we be trudging to?
None-ya.
We just on a trudgin’ mission –
Back through the woods.
And the rain ain’t slowin’ us down.
The mud ain’t slowin’ us down.
Branches slappin’ on our faces,
Ain’t slowin’ us down.
We on a mission,

As we trudge back through the woods.

Who we be and are?
You didn’t care before the trudge,
Don’t be askin’ now;
Just know that it be happenin’, and write it down on some fancy silk sh*t.
If you can’t hear us, you ain’t listenin’, ‘cos our boots be makin’ noise;
Loud noise,
Trail crunchin’, mud sloshin’, marching noise;
A noise like one man, a big man, a heavy man,
Making noise you ain’t never heard –

As we trudge back through the woods.

Standard

24 thoughts on “As We Trudge Back Through The Woods

  1. henry this is way cool…can’t life be a muddy road ..? and i love when the things that slap in our face aren’t able to stop us…we may not find answers on that muddy way, but we keep on walking…really needed to hear this…so thank you sir..

  2. I can really picture this trudge, Henry. And somehow a person’s just gotta keep movin’ on despite the mud and the muck trying to slow one down!

  3. haha i like it…and the dialect as well…i am writing this evening in the mind of me as a child so it made me think that route…maybe in the voice of max from where the wild things are…smiles…but i like him as santa as well….he needs to go get his reindeer instead a trudgin….smiles.

  4. Henry! Love it…to be honest, the thought of such a beast tromping through is rather fearful…are you making music right now…will we hear this…I’m ready to march

    • For this to be music it would have to be electric or full orchestra. But I will present something acoustic soon. I like the electronic bit you did, but you just did it, so I will wait for that, but I have an acoustic idea without fearful tredging monsters. Soon,

  5. My brother and I often use the term ‘trudge’ when in discussion of our way. I was thrilled to see you use it and in such good form. Send love and peace ~ Rose

  6. jasmine calyx says:

    I really like this section:

    “Who we be and are?
    You didn’t care before the trudge,
    Don’t be askin’ now;
    Just know that it be happenin’, and write it down on some fancy silk sh*t.
    If you can’t hear us, you ain’t listenin’, ‘cos our boots be makin’ noise”

  7. Just read other comments and for me this is a great example of how we all interpret according to our own life experiences. For me, I visualized troops in the tropics of Vietnam! Santa Claus? Much prefer that.

  8. It is cool with the different interpretations. But for the record, for future readers, it was not about Santa Claus. I was just goofing with a commenter who asked who the heavy man was. Victoria was pretty close as I wrote it as more of a militant piece.. That will teach me to clown around. But thank you all for comments, as long as it means something to you, I am glad. But I would not represent Santa in these words this way. I seriously doubt those in the boots I mention are too worried about Santa Claus. But again I enjoy any inerpretations. I want all words to create something in reader. Thank you all!

Leave a Reply

