change, Coping, Loss, Love, Regret

HOW FAR

In the hills of Sierra de los Padres
A bus slid off – a muddy roadway
And rolled and rolled without a skid
And left a kid – alone – on Sunday

She drove from church with laughing niños
And dropped them off – uno por uno
While el hijo stayed home and waited with papá
In the llora of rain on the edge of Negro

Madre de mi amor

I now live north with frozen rain
Draw my bow – slow – from Domingo’s pain
When I was young – and roads – húmedo
Madre de mi amor

How far must I go

For dVerse Poets Pub Open Mic Night

Standard

19 thoughts on “HOW FAR

  1. Okay some translation help in order: An Argentine Mountain range, children, one by one, the son, mourns, black, mother of my love, Sunday’s, wet. If you speak spanish and want english translate there’s always Google. Trust me, ask anyone here, I’n no expert.

  2. nice how you paint the scene..almost like in a movie and cool carving out of the emotions as well…the spanish works well in it.. it’s a beautiful language…my daughter’s both speak spanish and i just love to listen..smiles…evocative close with the frozen rain and that question..

  3. nice…i actually knew the words…smiles…the rhythm to this is a bit haunting…how far must i go…for the mother of your love…perhaps you may never go far enough…smiles…

    • Thank you for your comment. Sierra de los Padres: a hilly range in Argentina. Ninos: children. Uno por uno: one by one. Hijo: son. Llora: cries or mourns. Negro: Black. Madre de mi amor: Mother of my love. Domingo: Sunday. Humedo: Wet.
      Sorry for confusion, I tried to use basic words and easy (english style) phrasings for those who would translate on line. i will probably stick to just working in English. That was my goal anyway. Thanks again for visit.

  4. The rhythm in this draws you on; the Spanish adds just the right touch of the exotic, some of the images balance that with their tragedy. This is rich poetry, Henry.

  5. Ouch, I wanted to follow that but got lost.
    Is this a poem about a news story (link would have helped).
    Did a bus slide off a cliff an kill kids leaving lonely survivors?

    I get that you use to live in this area but now you are up in Quebec and perhaps the news made your remember those slippery, humid, dangerous days.

    But I can’t tell if “she drove from church” is the “a kid–alone–on Sunday” or the one who died and left “el hijo” alone. Or did the driver die. And what is “Domingo’s pain”?

    So with the Spanish thrown in (so now you do French too, I suppose) and these loose ends, I got loss. But maybe that is just me.

    Now I got to the comments — you might want to put those in notes, just a thought. People’s comments didn’t show me that they followed either — though they possibly did, but their comments didn’t show it. Well, you know me, not afraid to ask. I am not a skilled reader, as you know too. [following]

  6. dragyonfly says:

    Henry, I found your piece beautifully described, and I have no real knowledge of Spanish, a word here or there, however I had no problem following your prose. It was haunting, a loving portrait of painful memories and deeply felt love and longing. And the end was perfect, how far, indeed?

Leave a Reply

