Uncategorized

Can This You Feel

leonard01

Dear Sirs
Can this you feel

I’m not the same cold shape as flakes in flight
As Frozen time by eyes behind form sight
I’m me you see unique as one with none
Don’t ask if I speak French and vote as one
Please

I’m not the same
Can this you feel
I’m me you see
Can this you feel
I love your name
Can this you feel
Kind Sirs

Just let me be my snowflake in your sky
And let me fly as snow falls with no why

Can this you feel
Kind Sirs

Can this you feel

Sincerely
H. C.

_____________________
Photo by Emmanuelle Leonard
Poem for dverse Poet’s Pub Open Linc Night at http://dversepoets.com/

Standard

15 thoughts on “Can This You Feel

  1. We are all snowflakes…we drift and melt, typically under systems hot enough to try to quell our uniqueness….you’ve painted a perfect moment with “Just let me be my snowflake in your sky
    And let me fly as snow falls with no why”…would not the world be a much better place if we really could have the freedom to simply exist as our hearts direct us…oh…and just so you know…I’m playing catch up…ready? 😉

  2. Dear Henry,
    My take here is the different way French (or Quebecois) and English use the possesive nouns – therefore leading to the whole question how one is different in thoughts due to this simple difference.

    Or did you experiment to see how a poem would turn out if you just google translate from French to English?

    Hey, French and English are both not my first language – so do not get upset – I could be wrong!

    • Thank you for trying to be understanding, but I did not use Google, I tried to write that sound to make a point of sorts to some who give me a hard time for trying to improve my English in the arts, And I do not get upset with people who try to figure something out. I appreciate you, I’ll just keep my poems straight forward in the future. I’ll have to keep them simpler. It is too hard translating. But I will improve. Thank you very much.

      • Your English poetry is very beautiful Henry. And of course, way way better than my attempts at french poetry for sure. And I dare not try long poems in French!

        I could only sense it before but I can see what you mean now.

  3. aprille says:

    Dear Henry,
    You had me puzzled.
    Make that ‘have’.
    I realized it referred back to an incident or feelings outside my scope.
    I googled the first line, thinking it might be a phrase in a song that I was unfamiliar with.
    Nothing wrong with a good puzzle. If you read it out loud for us, we can taste the second of the four dimensions at play here.

  4. …as someone who’s not a naturally born english speaker…i think i can relate… and who cares if my english isn’t quite good…? i shouldn’t be expected to perfect english in the first place… i’m a filipino and not american….right?…. this is me… and this is my english… and am proud…smiles…

  5. I think I got your point, Henry. Different languages work in different ways, have different idioms, different ways of expressing the same idea. Just because you are French Canadian doesn’t mean you must write in French/Quebecois – and not doing so doesn’t make you some kind of traitor to your heritage.

  6. RL King says:

    Yes…a freefall of unique yet part of a massive group that looks similar upon first glance, arent we all..well pleaded.

  7. I always think if we all journeyed in our most congruent direction we would create a blanket, not just lines…like the snow…I fell for these lines

    “Just let me be my snowflake in your sky
    And let me fly as snow falls with no why”

    Always a pleasure Henry, send peace ~ Rose

Leave a Reply

