Uncategorized

Immigrant

Brian and Gretchen are hosting Poetics this weekend at dVerse. One of the prompts asked us to find a song that has inspired me in some way. I have chosen, Immigrant Song, originally recorded by Led Zeppelin. I was actually introduced to the song by a cover version of it by Karen O., Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross from the movie, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I am posting the movie soundtrack version below (Sorry Zeppelin fans). Being an immigrant of sorts I immediately identified some with the song; more so as an immigrant of today’s music scene on different fronts, than citizenship to some country, though I have qualified for both. Why I hope this piece more deals with music, it does have meaning for both areas I speak of. Please listen to song to if you have time and if you have a taste for this kind of song. Thank you.
___________________________________________

Salvar

is heard from the tip of cold Cape Horn,
sings the polar sun where the sky is torn.

The ice furnace will forge fresh songs in immigrants,
to slay the chords,
singing – warring;
a warning of social failing.

Pigs may sleep with thrashing whores,
but don’t ignore the immigrant’s oars;
slicing north toward distant shores;
slicing oars,
an immigrant’s chore.

Salvar

is heard from the tip of cold Cape Horn,
sings the polar sun where the sky is born.

How warm harbors seem so calm;
serene,
where shackled deep is magma’s door,
where crude oil fueled the notes of war;
a sickly score of “Gimmie More and Gimmie More.”

Pigs may sleep with thrashing whores,
but don’t ignore the immigrant’s oars;
slicing north toward distant shores;
slicing oars,
an immigrant’s chore.

Today we better stop, and look at all our ruins,
immigrants are on their way, to set free all our choosing.

Salvar

Salvar

Salvar

Standard

18 thoughts on “Immigrant

  1. dude….nice….great lyricism in this..one of my fav Zep sons of all times…and love reznor too…has a NIN fan back in the day…like how you played within the lyrics in this as well….the crashing ores from the song, he wails that and i like what you did with it…how ominous a tone in that last stanza as well…super job henry…

    • Thank you, Brian; glad you caught the work with the song and the unique riff it creates. Was a very fun piece to work with. I never seen oars as a POWER image before, The energy of the song is fantastic, enjoyed trying to match it. And it spoke loud, tried to come close to that. Appreciate your comment.

  2. …a particularly great writing Henry… from the odd formatting to the almost singing setting of kind of sounded like a round song when read… ..a warning of social failing — most stranger i know been into there… and i was no exception when i first stepped up to city to have a living away from the mountains, weeds, crickets, farm i used to lived with… smiles… thanks for the poem..

  3. ..am not a fan of Zeppelin, although my daughter is, I am struck by the combination of sound and your words…’oars slicing north’ ..forging songs…social failing..the image of ships rounding Cape Horn…it all is an amazingly adept whole!

  4. Dear Henry
    I love the era energy of both the poem and song. smiled at your apology to Led Zeppelin fans – I have been humming All My Love all week and Rainbows Street of Dreams. I am afraid I come from a different era – my favourite Canadian band is Eight Seconds and adore De

    • See if you like Arcade Fire. Thank you for comment, I was after a capture of energy with this presentation, and to say a few things along the way? Can’t have no play. I have nothing against LZep, I was just after a fresher framework for these words. Thank you for support. I’ll keep writing if I know someone is trying to listen. See you at Pub Tuesday then maybe. I have a short verse I’ve reworked.

Leave a Reply

