Uncategorized

Truth

Her mask is on – she lives alone
Her hands sweat – – on their own
Her hips move – – round and round
The song plays – there is no sound

She can’t see – – she can’t dream
There’s no walls – – she’s not free
She can’t breathe – – her lungs scream
There’s no light – – her skin’s green

Listen – when you say – she isn’t you – locked up tight – in your room – always night
The mirror’s right – the lies are wrong – the volumes off – your words are drowned
Listen now – and listen loud

You want the rhymes – but you can’t write
You’re typing fast – with ink that’s white
Your lips move – – in silent light
Another drink – and you’ll be right

To be a slave – is what you crave
Your words cry – there is no save
They’re all gone – – an empty page
The rage trapped – inside your cage

Listen – when you say – she isn’t you – locked up tight – in your room – always night
The mirror’s right – the lies are wrong – the volumes off – your words are drowned
Listen now – and listen loud

Your mask is on – you live alone
Your hands sweat – – on their own
Your hips move – – round and round
Your song plays – you have no sound

Truth

Standard

13 thoughts on “Truth

  1. I absolutely love this…
    the rhythm of the words,
    the repetition…truly wonderful and thought provoking.

    My … if there is such a thing this time..favorite verse:
    “You want the rhymes – but you can’t write
    You’re typing fast – with ink that’s white
    Your lips move – – in silent light
    Another drink – and you’ll be right”

    I think this speaks to so many writers I know…
    and almost all I know, myself included are now abstainers
    but understand that last line.

    Thank you,
    Peace
    Siggi

  2. i rather love the structure of this henry…i just watched les mis tonight so the world is a musical right now and you added your song…dang, lyrical…and i love the chorus and its switch up of the structure…very cool…

  3. Just a note for a dif take on the read, If you have time re-read in a whisper tone, soft and slow. This sings different to the music, but when I read it soft, it struck me even more than with strings and band. Thank you for the visit.

  4. Excellent writing–I did read it first with a harder edge (Tool was playing in the background of my mind when I read it), but you’re right–the feel of the piece changes when whispered, giving a silent power to the words. Very nice!

    • Hi I

      I just re-read this piece and when I turned down the volume I was able to hear with a whisper it changes the feel.and I can experience the message..still excellent

  5. Rhonda L. Brockmeyer says:

    I had to take a moment to reread this…it has such a great rhythm and flow and the words are very powerful and sad. Lovely writing here Henry.

  6. This is a wonderful song (both hushed and loud). I especially like the contrasts, such as “there’s no walls – she’s not free”, and “your typing fast – with ink’s that white”. Really enjoyed this, and will come back to read it again.

  7. this is poignant and direct in its compassion for a moment of awakening…you serve the dead well with these words my friend. I always appreciate your time and comments with my words Henry, and send you peace and love from my heart to yours. ~ Rose

    PS. I wanted to record “Needles” too and time did not serve all my desires this week. I think I will record and add later though…it deserves a reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

