Uncategorized

I See A Bee

Beneath a tree, inside a jar ………. outside a hive, I see a bee

A prison wall surrounds a bed, within a pod ……………. kept hid from light

An island lost ………… ‘tween seas of blue, a stranded soul, sunburned to crisp

All breath is crushed, as walls fall in, and crumble down …………. in clouds of dust

 

A prison wall, surrounds a bed …………… within a pod, kept hid from light

And tears are shed ……………… and tears are shed

All breath is crushed ………. as walls fall in, and crumble down, in dank dust clouds

 
A dream, a dream ……………… a dream please be

 

And tears are shed …………… and tears are shed

Storm clouds swirl black, unleashing rain …………. releasing fear, repressing life

A dream, a dream ………….. a dream please be

My clock unlocked, is dead unplugged, in darkness dawn …………. ‘side curtains drawn

 

And prayers are prayed ………………… and harps are played

An island lost, ‘tween seas of blue ………. a stranded soul, sunburned to crisp

Its sound grows faint ………………….. the buzz decreased

Beneath a tree, inside a jar, outside a hive ………………… I see a bee

Standard

13 thoughts on “I See A Bee

  1. Poor bee, and the soul he represents that is disconnected from the hive, trapped all alone in a prison jar. I suspect this poem is about more than just a bee, at least it is to me. Peace, Linda

  2. ha…really great progression in this…and in your own style as well…love the elipses…and your subtle adjustments along the way…that last stanza is really strong and by far my fav…really like that island lost tween seas of blue….cool variations brother….

  3. haha…so you seem to be even more rebellious than i am as you took much freedom with the form.. i like what you do with the dots.. and i agree with sam..nicely done sir

  4. Henry, I’m so bad with forms, I don’t recognize the name of this, but it’s damned impressive, your long breaks are like sighs, almost audible. Whether it’s a bee or someone incarcerated, it’s the same heartbreak. Touched me. Peace, Amy

  5. Yes…I would LOVE to hear this read! Henry…it’s stunning! Just a fantastic display of your talent. Love it! And thank you so very much for you kind words and encouragement…I bow to you, word weaver, and am both humbled and honored by your friendship.

  6. What a daunting piece, Henry. It reads with such a tune, very much lyrical. The ellipsis pattern leaves a space to fill in as we read along, as a pause for a breath to fill in. Very sad that some lives are stunted and sheltered like this. I think of a child born to a war-torn state. Beyond the sadness, a pleasure to read.

    Thanks so much for visiting my way. 🙂

Leave a comment