Loss

Yet Still

yet still

Sweet perfume stains and pains

      memories dancing across our bedroom

 

Pink sunrise sighs and cries

      when your cool pillow whispers secrets blue

 

Black coffee steams and dreams

      when your brown eyes orbit around my gloom

 

 

Dead leaves crunch when

      I walk

            placing flowers by your grave

 

I hear tenors wail

      but know

            you’re still singing to be brave

 

 

Sweet perfume stains and pains

      memories dancing across my bedroom

 

I can’t see you

      yet still

 

I can’t hear you

      yet still

 

I will always feel you

      until

            my pillow whispers something blue

 

 

Yet still …

 

Unitl …

 

 

 

Standard

37 thoughts on “Yet Still

    • I had it written to music at first, hence the repetition. But I couldn’t get it worked out in short order and I am away from home so I thought I would just let the lyrics stand. I guess it reads a lil over done this way. I should keep that in mind. But thank you for your kind words; twice even:)

  1. My first comment has disappeared– I said that I think the heart of the poem stands on its own– you embody and articulate the heartache of loss and how it is “seen” by the heart so well. xxxj

  2. Laurie Kolp says:

    Wow- this one pulls at my heartstrings, it’s so beautiful… love the rhyming pattern. I do believe in spiritual connections. Those we are close to never leave us… only physically.

  3. The pain in the heart of the poet, the loss he mourns through colors and sights and smells, are overwhelming. But the acts of writing and saying the words are acts of hope. Good poem, Henry.

  4. tashtoo says:

    Oh, Henry! Don’t give up the music! I could hear it in your words…a song just itching to be sung! I want to hear this…seriously! Another wonderful write, Poet!

  5. ohhh…the memories in the bedroom dancing around the walls like reflections from car headlights on the walls at night… you never know when they are coming. Your pain is so tangible, … because the love was/is so real. My heart grieves with you in reading this.

  6. breathtakingly beautiful. the imagery of your words is lovely, especially liked “Pink sunrise sighs and cries / when your cool pillow whispers secrets blue.”

Leave a comment